The EDUCAUSE Awards Program, under the guidance of the Recognition Committee, brings peer endorsement and distinction to professional accomplishments in higher education IT.

The Leadership Award is our highest recognition and honors exemplary leaders whose work has had significant positive impact on advancing the theory and practice of information technology in higher education.

The Community Leadership Award recognizes members for their roles as community leaders and active volunteers in professional service to the broader higher education information technology community.

The DEI Leadership Award, new in 2019, recognizes and celebrates exemplary leadership in advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in our community.

The Rising Star Award recognizes rising leaders in higher education information technology whose records reflects ongoing and exceptional growth in contribution to the profession and increased levels of leadership and responsibility.

Recognizing Exemplary Leaders in Our Community - 2019 EDUCAUSE Awards - EDUCAUSE


Leadership Award

Linda Jorn

Linda Jorn

Associate Vice Provost for Learning Technologies and Director of Academic Technology, Division of Information Technology, University of Wisconsin–Madison

For pioneering leadership and effectiveness in the area of academic and instructional technologies; for fostering collaborative environments among faculty, technologists, students, and other stakeholders to encourage innovation in academic instruction; for advancing the study and implementation of technology-enhanced learning spaces through her publications and presentations for the broader community of academic technologists.



Community Leadership Award

Mark Askren

Mark Askren

Senior Advisor to the President, University of Nebraska

For exemplary and extensive community leadership in the field of higher education information technology; for demonstrating vision, knowledge, and inclusiveness as an IT thought leader; for building cross-institutional, profession-wide communities that promote professional growth, personal commitment, and teamwork throughout the IT profession.


DEI Leadership Award

Melissa Woo

Melissa Woo

Senior Vice President for Information Technology and Enterprise Chief Information Officer, Stony Brook University

For championing and expanding the diversity, equity, and inclusion conversation and shedding light on the challenges faced by marginalized or underrepresented groups; for cultivating a culture of honesty and trust among working groups; and for promoting and providing leadership opportunities and mentorship to underrepresented groups.


The Rising Star Award

Tina Pappas

Tina Pappas

Associate Director, Innovation and Technology, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

For building a culture of communication, collaboration, and engagement among IT professionals and their workforce allies; for her commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion in the IT workplace; for mentoring and empowering women in the IT profession; and for helping to provide IT professionals with the training, information, and resources they need to succeed in their careers.